Picture
This past week I installed Cambridge paving stones. It was a great job, with a couple of twists. I have to give major props to everybody involved who helped make the job what it is.

The homeowner and I had agreed that he would do the excavating and order a load of stone for our base material. His week, and the start of the project, began with a crash when his excavator called and canceled on him, leaving him no machine to dig with. Like I have said before, for a project like this to be done right it needs to be dug out about six inches in each direction, and nine inches  deep. (Writers note: Some poetic license is taken with the following) I imagine what happened next went a little like this: Red bull was purchased and a town/family meeting was called. Shovels were thrust, picks were swung, and names were called. However it played out, by the end of the day the homeowner and his wife were out in the rain working with determination to get the job done. I am amazed by the work they put in to get the prep work done!

When I arrived on the job site I came equipped with a small grading machine. Needless to say, the homeowners were a wee bit jealous of the mechanical help I had. I moved the stone around and filled the excavated area to nearly ground level with sub-base stone. Because the pavers were delivered late were were a bit behind schedule but by day two I was able to put up the front steps (massive and full body solid 6'x6"x16" steps), then the 4’ x12’ went in. Day three I started the back of the house with an identical set of steps that went well with the size of the house coming down to a 10'x10' patio.

Things had been going pretty well up till that point but about three quarters of the way through the patio the wind became so strong and began blowing sand all over the place! As much and I love sand storms I had to call it a day. Day four, the last and final day, I was able to finish laying the patio stones and get the fire pit completed.

Despite all the twists and turns this job involved it turned out great and the homeowner was very pleased with it. He said he doesn’t even think a picture can do it justice. Nevertheless, I’ve put a few pictures of the job up here. Check it out and let me know what you think.




Leave a Reply.