Picture
Sidewalks are usually an “easy” project if you know how to do them, but City-owned sidewalks are a lot more complex due to codes and permit applications. 
 
This past week I replaced a bit of Syracuse City sidewalks for a homeowner. The
project really started a month ago with the permit paperwork being sent to the
City for review. It took some time to get all the departments to review the
paperwork to make sure the project would turn out OK, but at long last I had the
clearance to go.

In Syracuse, the sidewalks are a two part sidewalk, consisting of a 4” base of 4000 psi concrete with a 1” top of sand mix. On the first day of the project I
hammered out the old sidewalk with an electric jackhammer and pulled out most of the rubble. I finished grading and setting the forms. By the second day I was
able to pour the base and top coat.  

That night, around 8 PM as I was heading home from the job, the tire on my trailer blew. Another challenge after a long day, but it did not stop the work. The next morning I was able to pick up the forms and cut relief joints in the concrete.
The homeowner was happy with the sidewalk and it gave the street a new, clean
feel.

Check out the pictures and let me know what you think!





Leave a Reply.